The Probate Service

The Probate Service

The Probate Service forms part of the Family Division of the High Court.

It deals with ‘non-contentious’ probate (where there is no dispute about the authenticity of a will or any entitlement to a grant, and issues grants of representation, which are known as either

  1. Probate (when the deceased person left a valid will and an executor is acting
  2. Letters of administration with will when a person has left a valid will but there is no executor
  3. Letters of administration, when there is no valid will.

These different types of grants of representation appoint people known as personal representatives to administer the deceased person’s estate and assets

The Probate Service is currently made up of:

  1. The Principal Registry in London
  2. 11 District Probate Registries
  3. 18 Probate Sub-Registries situated throughout England and Wales

There are also a number of Probate ‘offices’ usually a room in a court or local authority building which staff attend, as necessary, to allow personal applicants to attend to swear the oath.